Media

Nielsen BookMediaIRELAND TOP 10 NON-FICTIONConstellations: Reflections From Life

Constellations: Reflections From Life

14.99

An extraordinarily intimate memoir in a series of bodily encounters that have made Sinead Gleeson the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act of Love and I am, I am, I am.

ISBN: 9781509892754 Category:

Description

‘I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles.’

How do you tell the story of life that is no one thing? How do you tell the story of a life in a body, as it goes through sickness, health, motherhood? And how do you tell that story when you are not just a woman but a woman in Ireland? In this powerful and daring memoir in essays Sinead Gleeson does that very thing. In doing so she delves into a range of subjects: art, illness, ghosts, grief and our very ways of seeing. In writing that is in tradition of some of our finest writers such as Olivia Laing, Maggie O’Farrell, Robert Macfarlane, Rebecca Solnit and Maggie Nelson, and yet still in her own spirited, warm voice, Sinead takes on journey that is both personal and yet universal in its resonance.

Additional information

ISBN 9781509892754
Publication Date 2019/04/04
Page Number 304
Imprint

Publisher Group

Binding

NIELSEN BOOKSCAN

CHARTING PERIOD May_2019
Product Class

RANKING 5
RRP 14.99
ASP €0.00
X